Lemon Flavored Scones with Almond Flour

Trying to keep up to Keto outside of my home is proving itself to be very difficult. I was raised not to choose food but to eat whatever was served. So being extremely choosy right now is also trying.

So, if I can’t eat whatever I find outside, namely our cafeteria at work, then I will bring what I can eat to work!

almond flour scone

This  scone is a variation of my previous madeleine recipe. Since I still don’t have madeleine pans, I decided to play with the recipe and turn it in to a scone.

I must say they turned out very interesting.

We don’t have ready-made almond flour sold here in Turkey, I buy almonds from our local spice store and ask them to grind it into flour. However as almonds extract their oil when processed, even the professional grinder at the spice store can work it up to some point. So my almond flour is actually tiny bits of almond, not flour at all. But therein lies the beauty. The scones came out a little bit chewy so, it tires me, makes me feel full and eat less! See multi purpose scones!

Preparing them is so very easy too.

Dry ingredients:

  • 1+1/2 cups almond flour
  • 5 packets of Splenda
  • Zest of 1 lemon
  • Pinch of salt
  • Baking powder

Wet ingredients:

  • 3 small eggs (whisked untill lighter color)
  • 2 tablespoons of melted butter
  • Smallest amount of vanilla extract
almond flour scone
These are all the ingredients and more, I’ve added walnuts here but as my almond flour is very chunky, I didn’t need them in my recipe. If you are using very fine almond flour, then go ahead and add some chunkiness to your scone.

As always, mix drys and wets separately then add the drys to the wets. I used small tart cups, but you can use cupcake molds.
almond flour scone

Baked them at 180 °C (356 °F) for 10-15 minutes.

This is everything really. And they are a very fulfilling afternoon treat. I eat a relatively light lunch and have one of these in the afternoon with tea and it is enough for the rest of the day.

almond flour scone
A little bit of butter right out of the oven will add a nice moisture to the scone, if you’re gonna eat right away.

The almond amount in one scone is very high of course, that’s why be sure not to consume too many in one day. Enjoy.

almond flour scone

4 thoughts on “Lemon Flavored Scones with Almond Flour

  1. Looks delicious! I also carry all my food with me on workdays. It takes some forethought and planning but it very worth the effort and keeps me from even noticing the bakery treats or vending machines at work.

    1. Hi! Thanks for the compliment and the comment. Yeah taking something from home to work help me away from the wending machine too but unfortunately I cannot bring any real food, as I can’t reheat it but even snacks are good too!

Leave a comment