Almond Flour Coconut Muffins Vol. 2

Lately I’ve been experimenting with almond flour. I’ve been revisiting my old recipes as well as trying to make up new ones. This is a  little bit of both. I’ve really like my old almond flour coconut muffins before and tried to change it a little bit. But I found out in previous years I was able to find finer grind-ed almond four. This new spice store I go to now, doesn’t grind them very fine and they stay a little bit chunky therefore making my desserts trying to eat.

almond flour coconut muffins 5

It’s okay though, they still taste good. And they do their job of feeding my snack craving.

The recipe is easy to make too. When you’re in need of a dessert to eat one evening, it is prepped in 10 minutes and cooked in 15!

Ingredients:

  • 2 cups almond flour
  • 1+1/2 cup coconut flakes + as much as you like to sprinkle on top
  • 2 eggs
  • ½ cup cream or better yer ½ cup coconut milk
  • 1 teaspoon baking powder
  • Smallest amount of vanilla extract
  • 1 tablespoon vegetable oil
  • 7- 8 packets of Splenda
  • 1 tablespoon of sparkling water
  • Walnuts – optional

As always with mix the drys and the wets(except the sparkling water) separately, then add the drys into the wets, make a smooth mixture. When you have a rather dry dough-like mixture then add the sparkling water and bring the mix to a more runny texture. If you like you can add some crushed walnuts too.

Pour the muffin mixture into cupcake cups. Add as much as you like into the cups, as we do not use normal flour here, the baking powder won’t make the chunky almond flour rise too much.

almond flour coconut muffins 1
I must add and explanation here. I bought some blanched almond and had them grind-ed this time so there are very prettily light color this time.

Before putting in the oven, sprinkle some coconut shavings on the muffins. They will get crunchy on top and add a different texture into the muffins.

almond flour coconut muffins 2

Bake at a pre-heated oven at 180⁰C for 10 – 15 minutes. Varrying from oven to oven, check at 10 minutes, poke the muffins with a tooth pick and if it comes out dry you are good to go, if there is still. Some wetness or you want to bake them more to make the tops  darker color,  bake for another 5 minutes.

These muffins are very fulfilling and they are so good at tea time or any time you want some low carb snack/dessert.

almond flour coconut muffins 3

In this recipe with the help of the cream, the muffins were a little dense inside, in my other recipe they were more on the lighter side.

almond flour coconut muffins 6

I hope  you try this recipe of mine and tell me how you change it, I am always up for new ways to change the usual recipes. Enjoy.

almond flour coconut muffins 4

11 thoughts on “Almond Flour Coconut Muffins Vol. 2

  1. These were delicious! I made several changes- instead of veggie oil I used coconut oil. Also I cooked them at 350 degrees C for 15 mins. I added 1/2 tsp of salt and more pure vanilla. I don’t know what the sparkling water was for, but we didn’t have any so I didn’t use it. Finally, I used munk fruit sugar which is keto- instead of splenda which is not. Yummy!!!

    1. I assume it should be unsweetened flaked coconut for keto, right? I want to try this with erythritol or liquid stevia or a cobo of both but not sure how much I should use.

  2. I looove coconut so I’m sure this would be delicious! 😋 your blog is great, I love all the recipes haha :) I would appreciate it so much if you could check out my blog too :)

Leave a comment