Mixed Berry Trifle

This is the dessert I made for New Year’s Eve dinner. I chose it because my uncle and cousin who are English were our guests and it is a dessert that can feed many people and well… I make a very good trifle.

_MG_9291

In this recipe I used raspberries in the jelly, strawberry flavored jelly mix and blueberries as the toppings so, there you have it a mixed berry trifle. I made mine in a bowl so it didn’t feel right calling it a traditional English trifle.

_MG_9172

And I used a pre-made cake sponge so let’s just keep it between us.

Jelly ingredients:

  • Powdered jelly mix – I used strawberry flavored but cherry works fine with raspberries too.
  • 1-1.5 cup of raspberries
  • 1 cup water
  • 1-2 teaspoon cold water

In a small saucepan heat up the raspberries and 1 cup of water. Make sure the raspberry flavor is incorporated with the water and raspberries are almost a mush. There should be a very nice composted berry smell in the air. Just before it boils add the packet of jelly powder.

Take the saucepan off the heat and mix until the powder is dissolved. Β Add the cold water and mix. At this point, since the mixture is how, it should be very liquid. Put the jelly mixture in the bowl you’re using and let it cool before putting in the freezer. If you’re using a glass bowl make sure the mixture doesn’t touch the sides. With glass bowls you would want to see thee layers pretty clearly.

When it’s cool put it in the freezer to set.

Meanwhile if you are making your sponge cake from scratch you can work on it. If not you can make your custard now.

Ingredients for the custard:

  • 2 cups milk
  • 2 tablespoons cornstarch
  • 1/3 cup sugar
  • 2 eggs, lightly beaten
  • 1 teaspoon vanilla extract

In saucepan over the heat mix the milk, sugar and the cornstarch. Mix with a whisk and make sure everything is homogeneous. Add the beaten eggs into the mixture slowly. Don’t cook the eggs. add the vanilla extract too.

Mix until the milk starts to bubble and it gets a little thinker. But don’t let it boil. When it gets to a thickness that you like, take off the heat and let it cool.

Meanwhile, after half an hour in the freezer check the jelly. If it is thickened you can take off the freezer part.

Cut up an appropriate size of the cake sponge and place it enough to cover the jelly. Again if your bowl is glass, make sure the sides look good and make sure the cake covers the sides so that when you add the custard it won’t just take over the cake.

IMG_9049
Since I had so much to do for the New Year’s dinner I had to start making the trifle the night before. I suggest you prepare the jelly and the custards beforehand but wait for the whipped cream until you serve it or very close to serving. So that you have a fresh looking dessert.

After the cake you can cover it with your custard. But make sure your bowl is not freshly off the freezer and your custard is not hot. You don’t want to break your bowl with different heats.

_MG_9156
I was running low on raspberries so this is a very pathetic looking picture with very little raspberries to top the custard. Oh and these two pictures, I took but all the rest are my brother’s wonderful work.

Again be careful placing the custard if you’re using a glass bowl. With three layers already in, you can see the layers very clearly from the sides.

If you have any raspberries left, you can place some of the on the custard. You don’t have to put any on the sides, in fact don’t. Make this a surprise for your guests.

Now the fun part! Whipped cream!

If you are going to make this by whipping the cream, have some caster (fine) sugar to add. If you’re going to make your whipped cream from a pre-made powdered form, don’t add any more sugar.

Just whip the cream when it forms add a little bit of caster sugar. Make sure the sugar is only in the taste and not in the feel of the whipped cream.

I prepared my whipped cream with a packet of store-bought powder mix and water. Because honestly is taste lighter that way and I didn’t want my dessert to be to filling after the huge turkey dinner.

When placing the shipped cream, you can either just plop all the cream or you can use a frosting bag and tip to make it look beautiful.

I made mine in rose shapes. I have been fascinated with that technique ever since I saw a rose cake being made.

_MG_9160

_MG_9161
Making roses are so easy, you just start in the middle and go around it, don’t go up. Δ°f you go from out to in, then you have you classic cupcake topping.

_MG_9164

And With rose shapes you can form a second layer of the whipped cream and place the blueberries in the middle of the roses. Plus it looks awesome!

_MG_9169

Anyway this was probably one of the best dessert choices for a meal like this because, it was both light and since there wasn’t enough for seconds for 10 people, everyone got to eat enough but not overly much. It was just enough.

_MG_9295

_MG_9294

When serving make sure to give everyone a little bit of every layer. This is what is fun about trifles. There are so many different textures and tastes but when they mix together that flavor is not something you can get in one single item. Make sure everyone get a piece of everything with every forkful.

_MG_9292

I must give the photo credit to my brother, he was my photographer for the night and got some amazing shots. Who is also serving in the Turkish army right now. This is a very hard time for me but I just started working so I have my mind occupied there.

I just wanted to give you heads up that was the reason in the delay of my post and I that may not have much time to post as much as I can. Β It really bums me that I can’t document the food I make in the evenings because of the lighting. I have the weekends though, so I will try to keep up.

Until then, keep save and… Enjoy.

One thought on “Mixed Berry Trifle

Leave a Reply

