Peppermint Swirl Cupcakes

Merry Christmas everyone! Even though we don’t celebrate Christmas, it always been my favorite time of the year, I love watching Christmas movies, or more likely watching old Doctor Who Christmas specials, and of course, the treats! Though I did watch Harry Potter and ate Chinese but I still wanted to share my Christmas themed cupcakes with you today.

peppermint. cupckes (16)

This is a very light and festive dessert. I made chocolate cupcake base and topped it with peppermint flavored whipped cream frosting.

Ingredients for chocolate base:

  • 1+1/2 cup flour
  • 1/2 cup cocoa (if your cocoa is a strong one you can use less)
  • 1/2 teaspoon baking soda
  • 1 pinch salt
  • 1/2 cup butter, softened
  • 1+1/3 cup sugar
  • Vanilla extract
  • 2 large eggs
  • 1 cup buttermilk

Mix flour, cocoa, soda and salt in a small bowl and set aside.

In a bigger bowl beat butter until fluffy and lighter color, you can use the back of a wooden spoon too but it will take longer.

Add sugar to the butter gradually, then eggs one at a time.

When you have a good mix alternatively add the milk and the flour mix, and as always with mixtures like this starting and ending with flour.

If you don’t like the end consistency just add a little bit more milk or flour to get it up to your liking, don’t go overboard though.

When you put a toothpick through the cakes and it comes out with small bits stuck to it, you’re just about ready. Leave them for another minute and take them out. If the toothpick comes out completely clean, they are overdone.] *This part is the same for all the cupcake base recipes I use in this blog, unless stated otherwise.

Adapted from: DedeWilson Blog

peppermint. cupckes (17)
I also decorated a vanilla cupcake but the majority of these cupcakes were chocolate. I also used the fondant decorations I had made before.

This was the same base I used with my other mint cupcakes.

Whipped Cream Frosting:

  • 1 cup whipping cream
  • 2 cups powdered sugar (or more depending how you like your frosting’s consistency)
  • Vanilla extract
  • Peppermint extract
  • Wilton Christmas Red food coloring

This is a standard whipped cream frosting but the fun part is at the end.

Whip the whipping cream until fluffy, gradually add as much sugar as you want. Add vanilla and/or peppermint extracts. After this if you still need more consistency, add some more sugar.

wilton christmas red
I used Wilton’s Christmas Red coloring, according to the importance of the day.

Now here is the fun part. To make the swirl effect, you need to ready your frosting bag and with the help of a toothpick or a thin painting brush (use a clean one never use a paint brush that touched paint for cooking!) draw lines with the food coloring on the inner sides of the frosting bag. Carefully put your frosting inside and before putting any on your cupcakes, try on the side somewhere so that the color can reach the frosting.  I put only two color lines but if you want more swirls you can paint lines on all four sides of the frosting bag.

The swirl motion should be happening now, if not you probably didn’t put enough coloring on the sides or your coloring wasn’t suitable for this effect.

peppermint. cupckes (9)
Don’t forget to store whipped cream frosted cupcakes in the fridge, it is on the melt-able side so, be careful.

So there you go, really simple but so pretty swirly frosting. I used some fondant decorations and chocolate ganache I made for another batch to decorate. You can use whatever you want and if you ave candy cane on hand that is even better for decorating.

peppermint. cupckes (18)
I love this corner for pictures but I’m guessing I need more composition elements to liven up my scene, don’t you think?

Hope all of you are having a great time during this time of the year. My family is coming for the New Year’s in two days and it is going to be a hectic time. I will prepare a New Year’s Eve feast for everyone so I will put lots of pictures later on. Until then….

Merry Christmas to all and to all a good night. Enjoy!

5 thoughts on “Peppermint Swirl Cupcakes

  1. I would like to try this whipped frosting. How long will it stay fresh? Does it need to be served the same day it is made? Thanks!

    1. They are very light and when you put them on the cupcakes they go for 2 almost 3 days, but the thing is with the other batch I kept the whipped cream frosting in the frosting bag and put it on the cupcakes whenever I was eating them and they were good for even 4 days. Hope this is helpful :)

Leave a Reply

