Ricotta Stuffed Zucchini Flowers

Here is another Izmir delicacy: Stuffed zucchini flower. When I found the flowers in the local market, People don’t really know what to make with them so it was so cheap. I just couldn’t help myself but try them. This is a basic recipe but it has a few steps so, it takes some of your effort and love.

Ingredients for the stuffing:

  • Zucchini flowers
  • 1 cup semi-salted Ricotta cheese
  • 1/2 cup grated simple white cheese
  • 1 egg
  • Handful of fresh dill, chopped
  • Salt & pepper

 Put the zucchini flowers in a bowl of water, so that the ends of the petals will open up a little. Meanwhile mix the stuffing ingredients in another bowl. In about 10 minutes, cute the end bits of the flowers and remove the seeds inside.

Put the stuffing in an icing bag and stuff the flowers delicately.

Ingredients for the batter:

  • 1/2 bottle of sparkling water
  • 1 egg
  • 4-5 tablespoons of flour
  • Salt & pepper

When all the flowers are stuffed, put a pan of frying olive oil on the stove. Mix the ingredients for the batter in a bowl. Carefully coat the flowers with the batter and place them in the pan, so that they won’t touch each other.

When both side are slightly fried, take off the heat, rest on top of paper towels and serve however you like.

I must admit when I first looked up recipes to cook zucchini flowers, I was skeptical but this recipe I rendered is fairly easy and surprisingly so light. If you have the means to them, do try! Enjoy.

zucchini flower 1

IMG_0591 zucchini flower 2 zucchini flower 4 IMG_0662zucchini flower 6 zucchini flower 7 zucchini flower 9

3 thoughts on “Ricotta Stuffed Zucchini Flowers

  1. My friend gave me a couple of zucchini flowers today. I may try this recipe with the flowers. They look so tempting!

Leave a comment