Baked Whole Chicken

Baked Whole Chicken 2
I know it says baked but it’s actually boiled, then baked. I have a very special rub that I use before putting it in the oven. I mix all the ingredients in a large mortar and crush them together.
Chicken:
  • Whole chicken
  • 1 small apple
  • 2 potatoes
  • Carrots
  • 1 onion cut in quarters
  • Salt & pepper
Put them all in a large stew pot, add hot water to cover the whole of chicken. Boil until cooked.
Chicken rub:
  • Butter (softened),
  • Thyme,
  • Oregano,
  • Mint,
  • Paprika,
  • Zinger powder,
  • Cayenne powder,
  • Salt & Pepper
My one key point is, when boiling the chicken put a small apple in the pan so that you don’t have stale chicken taste in the flesh. I use an apple whenever I’m boiling in a pan or baking chicken in a cooking bag in the oven.
Baked Whole Chicken 1
Baked Whole Chicken 3
One thought on “Baked Whole Chicken

Leave a Reply

