chicken salad 4

Best Chicken Lunch Ever

Eating lunch has never been a strong habit in my family household. We’ve always been brunch or long breakfast eaters. So when I was still living with my parents, whenever I was hungry in the afternoon my mom would prepare me pan sautéed chicken with green bell peppers. We always had a quick salad with each meal and yogurt has been a companion for almost all of our mealtimes. Seriously, I even remember my dad leaving the dinner table, to go to the store to buy yogurt and coming back to eating. That’s how committed we are about our yogurt.

chicken salad 3

This is how Turkish yogurt looks like, don’t mistake it for any other. It has a shape but it is very soft and smooth.

I was looking for a lunch idea the other day and when I saw I had the basics at home, I couldn’t help feel nostalgic and prepare the lunch me and my mom always enjoyed together.

Ingredients for the chicken, serves two:

  • 2 chicken breasts
  • 1 green bell pepper (if you don’t have any you can use whatever you have handy. I used mushrooms)
  • or 2-3 mushrooms
  • Oregano
  • Olive oil
  • Salt & pepper

Cut the chicken breasts into cubes. Put olive oil on a hot pan and lay the chicken on it. Stir until all the surface of the chicken is white. Add black pepper and oregano, let their flavors mix. If you’re using bell peppers, add them now, if you’re using mushrooms, wait a little and add them. Make sure the mushrooms are comfortable and if they extract their juices, wait for them to dry out.

chicken salad 2

The chicken doesn’t look much appealing by itself but it will taste delicious, believe me.

This is not a gourmet dish, so don’t try to make it up to standards, it should even be a little dry so that the yogurt has a purpose.

Ingredients for salad:

  • Lettuce (amount is up to you)
  • 1 tomato
  • 1/2 Lemon juice
  • Olive oil
  • Salt

Cut up the lettuce and tomato. Mix them with olive oil, lemon juice and sprinkle a little salt. Easiest. Salad. Ever.

chicken salad 1

No color adjustments here. Good produce is what makes your food delicious. Don’t forget.

Now doesn’t that plate make you hungry? I seriously need to prepare myself something like this right away. Looking at the picture I can taste the deliciousness that is, yogurt clad chicken. Hope you try this and turn it into your go-to lunch too. Enjoy!

chicken salad 4

Leave a Reply

