crayfish

Butter Poached Crayfish with Tomato Sauce

I came across these beautiful crayfish in the food market last week for a great deal. I was very excited but it didn’t turn out the way I had hoped.

I found out crayfish are extremely hard to de-shelf and so sharp around the edges. I don’t mean that in a metaphorical sense but literally, I have cuts on my fingers to prove that.

_MG_7738

See those lovely spots? Yeah, those are not eyes, the ugly bit at the end is actually the head.

_MG_7749

They do look lovely but do you understand what I mean by sharp edges? Look at those! Oh and during the experimentation process I lost many crayfish, I only had a very few to cook at the end. (Don’t tell anyone but experimenting cooking techniques really feeds the person cooking. I ate more when I was trying to understand how to cook then at the table)

After many cuts, I just gave up and cooked the reaming with their shelves. They were a little hard to take out but so delicious nonetheless.

And the tomato sauce turned out so good that I do think the crayfish gave their flavor to it.

Ingredients:

  • 4-5 fresh crayfish
  • 5-6 tablespoons of butter, cut in to small pieces
  • 2-3 tablespoon water
  • 2 cloves garlic
  • 2 cups grated tomato
  • 1-2 celery sticks
  • Fresh dill
  • Olive oil
  • Salt & pepper

This starts out as basic poaching techniques. Melt a few of the butter pieces while whisking. Don’t let the butter melt into a clear form always keep it at thick yellow color. Gradually add the pieces and water, all the while whisking. Add the crayfish into the pan but keep the butter moving with a spoon around and over the crayfish.

_MG_7806

See how they start to change color? Pink means it’s cooked, don’t forget. Oh and your butter shouldn’t be this clear, I obviously was getting a little impatient waiting for them to cook.

Add salt, pepper and the crushed garlic. Continue doing this until the crayfish turn into a very nice pink color. Add a little bit of chopped dill in the pan now.  If you want you can add some right at the beginning into the butter and incorporate the flavors.

Add the cut up celery stick in the pan. Continue moving everything around. Finally add the tomato in the pan and make sure everything is covered by the new mixture. you can add some more dill here. Make sure there is still relatively uncooked dill in the dish when you’re serving. If the consistency s too thick, add some more grated tomato or water to the pan.

Serve cooled but still warm. This will make the crayfish easy to de-shelf but make the sauce still hot. Be careful with the shelves there are really sharp, this is my final warning to you. Oh and don’t forget to keep bread to dip in the sauce. Enjoy.

crayfish

And here it is. I’m sorry I don’t have many finished version photos, I was really tired and only thinking about consuming them at this point!

3 thoughts on “Butter Poached Crayfish with Tomato Sauce

  1. Pingback: Crayfish Soup – Krepsesuppe | RecipeReminiscing

Leave a Reply

